Regions of the U.S. - Review

Contributor: Jodi Powell. Lesson ID: 10681

After completing four lessons about the regions of the U.S., you are becoming an expert Geographile! Sharpen your skills one last time with online research and projects to solidify your expert status!


United States

learning style
Auditory, Kinesthetic, Visual
personality style
Grade Level
Middle School (6-8)
Lesson Type
Skill Sharpener

Lesson Plan - Get It!


"...from the mountains, to the prairies, to the oceans, white with foam..."

The United States is divided into four unique and distinct regions: the Northeast, South, Midwest, and West. In which one do you live? Which do you find the most interesting? Let's review what we've learned!

(If you missed any of the Related Lessons on these four U.S. regions, found in the right-hand sidebar, check them out before completing this review.)

 regions of the United States

The United States of America is the third-largest country in the world, in both area and population.

The U.S. is commonly divided into four distinct regions: the Northeast, South, Midwest, and West. Each region has a unique geography, history, and culture.

Read Summary: What is a Region?, created by Houghton Mifflin. Next, read another Houghton Mifflin summary, this one specifically about U.S. regions: Summary: Regions of the United States.

Northeast The Northeast is comprised of nine states: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

The northern states in this region are often referred to as New England. All nine northeastern states were part of the thirteen original U.S. colonies. Prominent geographic features in the Northeast include the Appalachian Mountains, the Pocono Mountains, the Atlantic coast, the Delaware River, Lake Erie, Lake Ontario, and the Ohio River Valley. Some of the country's largest cities are located in the Northeast, such as New York City, Boston, and Philadelphia.

South The Southern U.S. consists of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Historically, the southern states are known for being part of the Confederacy during the Civil War. The South is one of the warmest regions of the U.S. and known for the Atlantic coast beaches, the Everglades, the Gulf Coast, and the Great Smoky Mountains. Large cities in the South include Atlanta, Raleigh, Miami, and New Orleans.

Midwest The Midwestern, or Heartland, states are found in the center of the country.

The twelve Midwestern states are Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Notable geographic landmarks in the Midwest include the Mississippi River, Lake Michigan, and the Great Plains. The Midwest states are known for their high agricultural production, as well as the occasional tornado. Its largest cities are Chicago, Detroit, and Indianapolis.

West The largest region of the U.S., the West consists of half the land area of the whole country and includes Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The western region boasts the most geographic variety of all four regions. Key physical features include the Rocky Mountains, the Pacific Coast, the Grand Canyon, Death Valley, and the Hawaiian islands. Some of the major cities are Los Angeles, Phoenix, Las Vegas, and Denver.

Travel on to the Got It? section to review what you have learned with hands-on and interactive activities!

Elephango's Philosophy

We help prepare learners for a future that cannot yet be defined. They must be ready for change, willing to learn and able to think critically. Elephango is designed to create lifelong learners who are ready for that rapidly changing future.