Zodiac Signs: Fire and Earth

Contributor: Morgan Haney. Lesson ID: 13340

The zodiac signs as we know them are 3000 years old, and each has a rich mythological history. Discover the stories behind each zodiac sign, and learn what astrologists believe our signs say about us!


Mythology, People and Their Environment

Social Studies
learning style
Auditory, Visual
personality style
Lion, Otter
Grade Level
Middle School (6-8), High School (9-12)
Lesson Type
Dig Deeper

Lesson Plan - Get It!


zodiac signs

The twelve signs of the zodiac are pictured above along with the dates associated with each. You use your birthday to find your zodiac sign.

  • For example, if you were born on May 8th, you would be a Taurus.

Beside each sign is the personality traits attributed to it such as wisdom, creativity, and courage. These traits and subsequent horoscopes, predicting what the coming day or month will bring for each sign, are created by astrologists.

It is important to remember that astrology is not a science. However, while these traits and horoscopes are fictional; they are based on man's longstanding fascination with the stars.

  • Did you know that each sign also has a story in Greek mythology attached to it?
  • Or that each sign falls under one of the elements: fire, earth, air, and water?

In this lesson, you will explore the fire and earth signs and dive into the mythological stories behind some of the most well-known constellations.

Along the way, you'll discover what astrology says about your personality!

The Greek zodiac dates back to 500 BC, which is almost 3,000 years ago. The classical elements of earth, air, fire, and water as we know them also date back to around the same time.

While these elements obviously existed before, it was in 450 BC when the Greeks proposed that all matter was made of these four elements. Later, Aristotle agreed with and added to this theory.

(Of course, we know today that atoms make up all matter.)

Naturally, the Greeks assigned each zodiac to one of these all-important four elements. Since there are twelve zodiac signs; each element contains three signs.

This lesson will explore the mythology connected to the fire and earth signs.

Along the way you will encounter heroes, gods, and monsters as well as the traits and talents astrologists assign to these zodiac signs!

The Fire Signs: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius

The fire signs are generally characterized as courageous, strong, combative, and charismatic.

The Earth Signs: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn

The earth signs are generally characterized as dependable, grounded, materialistic, and practical.

Each zodiac sign has its roots in rich and unique mythology.

Move on to the Got It? section to see if you can remember the stories behind each of these constellations!

Elephango's Philosophy

We help prepare learners for a future that cannot yet be defined. They must be ready for change, willing to learn and able to think critically. Elephango is designed to create lifelong learners who are ready for that rapidly changing future.