Zodiac Signs: Air and Water

Contributor: Morgan Haney. Lesson ID: 13342

As we continue to unveil the Greek mythology behind the zodiac, we'll explore the air and water signs. You'll learn more stories from mythology, and you'll create your own constellation story!


Mythology, People and Their Environment

Social Studies
learning style
Auditory, Visual
personality style
Lion, Otter
Grade Level
Middle School (6-8), High School (9-12)
Lesson Type
Dig Deeper

Lesson Plan - Get It!


In the previous lesson on zodiac signs, you explored the Greek mythology behind half of the zodiac signs and what astrology says about people born under those signs. Astrologists claim the fire signs are courageous, engaging, and impatient, while earth signs are grounded, patient, and stubborn.

If you have not yet completed this lesson and its in-depth look at personality assessments, check it our under Related Lessons in the right-hand sidebar.

In this lesson, you will explore the air and water signs, all of which have rich mythological histories full of heroes, monsters, and morals.

Gaiman quote

Greek mythology is full of thrilling stories about monsters and battles and magic. But interestingly, it is not always full of the traditional morals that are seen in the mythology of many other cultures.

  • Remember the story behind the Taurus constellation, where Zeus abducted Europa and forced her to bear children for him?

According to the Greek stories, the most virtuous party does not always win, and power matters more than goodness. This is because the Greek gods were not largely seen as benevolent. Rather, they were petty and selfish and willing to sacrifice the safety and happiness of mortals to achieve their own ends.

In the air and water constellations, you'll find some tales with traditional morals. However, you will also find ones that serve as cautionary tales about the wrath and selfishness of the gods.

As you explore the myths of these constellations, notice how they differ from religious stories you may have heard growing up, and consider what that says about different cultures' views of a higher being or beings.

The Air Signs: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius

The air signs are generally characterized as intellectual, logical, detached, and free-spirited.

The Water Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces

The water signs are generally characterized as intuitive, emotional, sensitive, and caring.

In every constellation, there is an opportunity to learn about an ancient culture.

Move on to the Got It? section to test your knowledge of the water and air myths!

Elephango's Philosophy

We help prepare learners for a future that cannot yet be defined. They must be ready for change, willing to learn and able to think critically. Elephango is designed to create lifelong learners who are ready for that rapidly changing future.