Central America - Geography

Contributor: Jodi Powell. Lesson ID: 10753

There's no spot in Central America farther than 125 miles from the ocean. These seven countries make up a narrow isthmus that connects North and South America. Videos, articles and games show the way!



learning style
Auditory, Kinesthetic, Visual
personality style
Grade Level
Middle School (6-8)
Lesson Type
Dig Deeper

Lesson Plan - Get It!


Do you know the name of the strip of land that connects North American and South America? Central America, a region of North America consisting of seven countries, connects the two. Central America also neighbors the many islands of the Caribbean. This largely Spanish-speaking region is rich in geography, history, and culture!

The narrow strip of land connecting North and South America is Central America.

Technically a part of North America, Central America consists of seven countries:

  • Belize
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • El Salvador
  • Nicaragua
  • Costa Rica
  • Panama

Listen to this catchy Central America Geography Song to learn the names and locations of the countries in Central America:


While reading through the following sources to learn more about Central America, record notes on the graphic organizer entitled Central America Notes found in Downloadable Resources in the right-hand sidebar. Copy down information into the six categories provided: People, Politics, Economics, Geography, History, and Definitions.

  • Begin by reading about the geography of Central America at ducksters.com: Central America and the Caribbean Geography.
  • Next, read at Easy Science for KIDS: Central America. Be sure to watch the video and explore the interactive map near the bottom of the webpage.
  • At cotf.edu, click through the six tabs on the left-hand side to read about the Peoples, Politics, Economics, Geography, History, and Definitions of Central America: Central America - Peoples.
  • Read this list of 17 interesting facts from About Travel: 17 Things You Didn't Know About Central America.
  • Watch the Overview Mexico/Central America video below to review general information about Central America.


Now you know about Central America, the strip of land consisting of seven countries that connect North and South America. Wait, what are those seven countries again? Tell your teacher or parent!

Now, continue on to the Got It? section to see if you got it!

Elephango's Philosophy

We help prepare learners for a future that cannot yet be defined. They must be ready for change, willing to learn and able to think critically. Elephango is designed to create lifelong learners who are ready for that rapidly changing future.