Regions of the United States: Review

Contributor: Jodi Powell. Lesson ID: 10681

Are you an expert on the regions of the United States from sea to shining sea? Put it to the test with this lesson and discover even more about the history, culture, and geography of America!


United States

learning style
Auditory, Kinesthetic, Visual
personality style
Grade Level
Middle School (6-8)
Lesson Type
Skill Sharpener

Lesson Plan - Get It!

Audio: Image - Button Play
Image - Lession Started Image - Button Start

Listen to this young woman sing "America the Beautiful."

Image - Video

The United States is divided into four unique and distinct regions: the Northeast, South, Midwest, and West.

  • Do you live in one?
  • What do you know about each?
  • Which do you find the most interesting?

Jump into this lesson to review all four regions and explore further!

regions of the United States


The Northeast is comprised of nine states: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

The northern states in this region are often referred to as New England. All nine northeastern states were part of the thirteen original U.S. colonies.

Prominent geographic features in the Northeast include the Appalachian Mountains, the Pocono Mountains, the Atlantic coast, the Delaware River, Lake Erie, Lake Ontario, and the Ohio River Valley.

Some of the country's largest cities are located in the Northeast, such as New York City, Boston, and Philadelphia.

Image - Video


The Southern U.S. consists of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Historically, the southern states are known for being part of the Confederacy during the Civil War.

The South is one of the warmest regions of the U.S. and is known for the Atlantic coast beaches, the Everglades, the Gulf Coast, and the Great Smoky Mountains.

Large cities in the South include Atlanta, Raleigh, Miami, and New Orleans.

Image - Video


The Midwestern, or Heartland, states are in the country's center.

The twelve Midwestern states are Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Notable geographic landmarks in the Midwest include the Mississippi River, Lake Michigan, and the Great Plains.

The Midwest states are known for their high agricultural production and the occasional tornado. Its largest cities are Chicago, Detroit, and Indianapolis.

Image - Video


The largest region of the U.S., the West consists of half the land area of the whole country and includes Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The western region boasts the most geographic variety of all four regions. Key physical features include the Rocky Mountains, the Pacific Coast, the Grand Canyon, Death Valley, and the Hawaiian islands.

Some of the major cities are Los Angeles, Phoenix, Las Vegas, and Denver.

Image - Video

For a further review, check out US Geography: regions.

Then, travel to the Got It? section to show off what you know about all four regions!

Image - Button Next